Pinnacleceo's Take

Experiences put to paper…

Want at Good Look At Your Productivity Profile? Connect the Dots!

There are a lot of places you can post your profile today. Social media is filled with outlets that allow you to “put yourself out there”. At any given moment, if you are not satisfied with it, you can simply make a change…You want it to be perfect, don’t you?

Think about your profile. What’s in it? Let’s break it down…

Normally there is a spot for your picture. Let’s be honest, you do not just throw one up there. You may search through every file you own to find the exact picture, in the exact light, that in your mind makes you look the best you can be!

Next is information about you. Who you are, what you do, what you like and what you have done. Again, many take a painstaking approach to getting this piece exactly where they want it.

Once you have all the details in order, you are ready to present yourself to the world for acceptance and approval. Our best foot forward.

There is another profile I would like to discuss. It’s your productivity profile. It, like the profile described above has a picture of you, who you are, what matters to you and what you have done. It can even display where you are going! The question becomes…do we put as much time and attention into this one? Do we always put our best foot forward here as well?

When I began my sales career over thirty years ago, I was given a daily planner. A paper version at that! The purpose of this tool was to keep me focused on what my priorities were. Priorities were the “must-do’s” DAILY that had to be accomplished to be productive. My must-do’s every day for productive business success were consistently the same…prospect for new business, be involved in a business transaction and learn all I could to master my craft to become as professional and efficient as possible. That was it.

Of course, there were many elements to this prioritizing process and many other things mattered, but at the end of the day, to be productive, I had to focus on those three things. The writing was on the wall so to speak because all I had to do to see how well I was doing, was simply look in my daily planner and connect the dots.

Every time I scheduled prospecting time I placed a dot in that time slot. Every time I scheduled an appointment, I placed a dot in that time slot and, every time I scheduled learning time, being mentored, studying or simply managing my business…you got it…I put a dot.

It became very easy for me to view my productivity profile for you see all I had to do at any given moment, was look at my prior week or my upcoming week and just connect the dots. Prospect call dots turned into appointment dots and appointment dots turned into closed deal dots and learning time dots helped me master the art of getting referrals and handling objections and finding new markets, on and on…

 If my planner was filled with dots every day, my profile displayed what I wanted it to. I soon learned one of the greatest feeling in the world for me as a professional sales person, was to open my upcoming weekly planner and see it filled with dots! I also learned one of the most difficult things to overcome is just the opposite…days filled with empty space.

So here are some practical tips to help you with your productivity profile.

1.      Know your priorities: If you don’t know what your “must-do’s” are, you need to identify them and focus on them immediately. We all know how distracted we can get.

2.      Track your results: Keep score of how you are doing DAILY. I cannot emphasis this point enough, you MUST keep score EVERY DAY!

3.      Start connecting the dots: Here is the beauty of this…you are in charge! It’s your profile and no one else’s! You are in control of the dots!

4.      Always think ahead…way ahead. Always be in “dot-adding” mode! Do all you can to keep your upcoming weeks and months filled with dots. Do not get into the habit of waiting until the last minute or every worse, only start paying attention to your productivity profile when you are about to fail!

Your productivity profile clearly displays your results. The great news…you are in charge of what it looks like. So if you want to know where your productivity has been, where it is, and where it is headed, the answer is quite clear…connect the dots!

To learn more, visit my website http://www.timtivis.com

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

